Coach Carole Ramblings

Celtic, Mythical and More …

31 Day Challenge: Day 1

10 Comments

2009: Sunday 11 January
Greetings to all my readers and I wish you a happy and harmonious New Year!

My goal this year is to improve my blogging and to use my blog as my professional web page for those who follow me and for those who wish to contact me about project work. Please view the new Professional Services page in this blog. I’m already pleased to be working on several projects with a few more waiting in the wings (awaiting funding approval – you know the score) – this year looks like it will be even busier for me than 2008.

What a perfect opportunity, when the 31 day challenge notification came across my desk today, I immediately jumped into it and began to amend my blog pages, posts, settings etc.

The task for day one was to send an email to a new reader of my blog – something I’d not done before – mainly cos I don’t have many comments – so I’m often unaware of those reading my blog. This sent me off on a trail of learning about the intricacies of the admin tools here in WordPress and caused me to rethink the way in which I wanted my blog to work for me in 2009.

I have made a few changes to the settings to enable a smoother transition into comments and changed the privacy level to make this task easier for you. Please feel free to comment on any of the next 31 postings to give me feedback on how I’m going here.

    If you’d like to join the 31 Day Challenge and improve your own blogging, please read Sue Waters’ post.
Author: coachcarole

Coach Carole is the name by which many of you will know me - in my role as coach and mentor for teachers, project teams and networks facilitators. I work independently as an elearning consultant for my business Macro Dimensions.

10 thoughts on “31 Day Challenge: Day 1

  1. Hi Carole – Welcome to the 31 Day Project. I agree it is definitely a good way of improving your blogging skills while also making connections with others.

    I will also add your blog feed to the participants post page where you can check out the latest posts by participants or add their blog to your Google Reader.

  2. Thanks Sue, commenting should now be much easier on my blog – first bit of very useful learning; remove barriers/moderator approval for comments from blog discussions in WordPress.
    CC

  3. Hi Carole,

    Your blog reads like a Who’s Who in Victorian web 2 circles.

    I have just spent the last two months stting on on some of the PD ofered by the victoria University Flexible Learning Unit from Newport campus.

    I can only feel sorry for them as they try to drag VU staff into sa digital age of teaching and learning. At a rercent staff meeting, a request was made for two work stations and the overhead data projectors to be removed as they were too distracting for student/teacher discussions.

    Hope to post with you a bit more while we do the challenge.

    Regards, Bill Oldham (sessional teacher with VU adult VCE program)

    • Hey Bill, thanks for dropping by. I’ll take your first comment as a compliment! LOL I loved your quoted scenario of removing distracting items – like computer and o/h datashow – that’s like saying switch off that mobile phone when kids are in class. Soooo not right!
      CC

    • Hey Bill, Not sure that I actually replied to you, so I am rectifying that now. I liked your story of the dickensian approach to removing distractions. Today I’m attempting to upgrade my blog with some changes to its design (ala comments from the auditors) and to add some more meaningful information about me and what my blog is for. Do stay tuned – I will enjoy posting with you too. CC

  4. Hey Carole –

    I’m so glad you joined the challenge AND jumped right in! You will really be an encouragement to everyone:)

    Lisa

  5. Hi Carole,

    Great posts – it does indeed read like a who’s who of web 2(to keep in the poetic mood). You have inspired me to take the 31 day challenge – in a little while lol. You have a very literary manner about your writings. I enjoy your style. Great work and keep up the challenge!
    Lynne Gibb (Coonara)

    • Hey there Lynne, That was a most gratifying. comment from you – I guess I do like to keep my posts literary – helps make them more readable for the general public. I’m doing some work on my blog this morning as I attend to task 4 in the challenge. So when you return you may see some extra links to other related postings. That’s if I can figure out how to do that here in WordPress. LOL.

  6. Your blog is coming along well Carole, although it always seemed ‘together’ in the first place. I like the theme. I am a bit disappointed with the Edublogger themes having used WordPress standard ones for 2 years.
    Don’t feel obliged to reply. I am happy to just comment!