Coach Carole Ramblings

Celtic, Mythical and More …

Benefits of blogging?

3 Comments

Today I am reflecting on my own use of blogging over the last few years! You are invited to comment below about your own reflections.

Baranduda Blog: this one goes back several years and I realised that I would not have time to maintain in 2012. In January I began to populate posts in here from my ScoopIt! research. I set up one ScoopIt called ‘Learn Local about eLearning‘ to automatically post any new Scoops back here into the Baranduda Blog. This had the desired effect – keeping active posts happening – but they were not my own content.

CoachCarole.net: this is my new business site and is also a WordPress blog and I’ve been aiming to keep that one active in different ways. The most recent of which is to use a Post to Launch a Live Blog or two. I use CoverItLive software to do that and embed it straight into the page.

Celtic Family History blog: this is my blog for family history writing and it gets updated from time to time, when I have time for my Genealogy. This one keeps all my stories together in chronological order of writing.

Oh Life! this is my daily reflection reminder blog that is the easiest one of them all to maintain. I have set this one to remind me each evening at 7 pm to reflect and I do that by simply replying to the reminder in my email with as much or as little as I want to record. This one is for my personal reflections and not for sharing with the world.

What’s your blogging style?

Author: coachcarole

Coach Carole is the name by which many of you will know me - in my role as coach and mentor for teachers, project teams and networks facilitators. I work independently as an elearning consultant for my business Macro Dimensions.

3 thoughts on “Benefits of blogging?

  1. Hi Carole,

    You have framed this for me perfectly! I was mulling over how many blogs to have, what to put in each, whether to combine different blogs for different audiences etc as I have so many things to blog about and end up doing none! I have an edublogs blog which I started for a project, several other project blogs on blogger, a WordPress blog that I started when I was doing your MOOC reflections and a Xanga blog I used when I was doing my diploma of elearning. This has galvanised me into working on the few I have started and not continued and to make a commitment to keeping up with the important ones – thanks 🙂

  2. Love the new look Baranduda Blog, Carole. I need to have that underlying purpose to blog. Often I think I should write a post about that! But then don’t go ahead and do it. I can certainly see the benefits of blogging though. Take my recent post about a workshop I attended. You can read it here. http://paulinemwilson.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/becoming-a-digital-productivity-ninja/
    I actually wrote most of this whilst at the workshop on my iPad. It was a form of taking notes. Saved it as a draft and tidied it up when I got home and published. I have referred back to it on several occasions to remind me of some of the productivity improvements I am trying to make. I plan to keep blogging. Next post will be about delivery strategies including a new one I found this morning – exit slips.

  3. Hi Lynne, Pauline, thanks so much for dropping by. Love the ideas you are sharing here Pauline and admire the different approach you are taking Lynne.
    My problem is often that I neglect some blogs in favour of others, so NOTE TO SELF, check that you have automatic notifications on for Comments on own blog posts!
    CC