Coach Carole Ramblings

Celtic, Mythical and More …

Reflections on Leadership

Leadership is a selected pathway for me in Toastmasters International, an educational organization I have been participating in for 13 years. You might think that this is a long time for learning leadership! “Surely you’ve got the gist of it by now?”, I hear you ask. There is more to it than just learning about leadership – it is necessary to practice and share your leadership vision with others.

My recent Competent Leadership (CL) Certificate in Toastmasters is the second one of these that I have achieved. To obtain a CL in the Toastmasters Educational program you must complete these projects:

CL Progress 1 Some of these tasks are quite simple to do – just requiring completion of a meeting role such as Toastmaster of the Day or Grammarian.Each one focusses on a different but complementary competency such as Listening, Critical Thinking, Giving Feedback, Time Management, Planning and Implementation.

By repeating these projects I have learned to improve my skills in these competencies.

CL Progress 2Others are much more complex such as being the chairman of a PR campaign, organising a Membership campaign or operating as the Club Webmaster. The focus for the latter projects includes competencies such as: organising and delegating, facilitating, motivating, mentoring and team building.

I would recommend repeating the CL manual projects to advanced Toastmasters to polish their deeper leadership skills.

Author: coachcarole

Coach Carole is the name by which many of you will know me - in my role as coach and mentor for teachers, project teams and networks facilitators. I work independently as an elearning consultant for my business Macro Dimensions.

Comments are closed.